Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Pray Intelligently for Namibia !

At Eastside  Baptist Church (in  Klein Windhoek )  we have been in the habit  now for many years  of praying  for  our political leaders  on a regular basis , both in our  weekly prayer meetings , and  also  in our Pastoral ( or Pulpit) prayer  during our Sunday morning Worship  service . 
The Biblical basis  for such prayer  is found  in  1 Timothy 2:1-4 
"First of all , then , I urge that  supplications, prayers , intercessions and thanksgivings be made for all people , for kings and all who are in high positions , that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life , godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Saviour , who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth ."
 A few observations   on this text : 
1.  All kinds of prayer  for country and leaders  is urged upon us . The power of the church  lies  in her  faithful prayer ministry for people   and country . This is illustrated  in the  reign  of   " Bloody Mary" , Queen of England who was said to fear the prayers of John Knox the Scottish Reformer more than  an army .
2. The  reason given is that we may lead  peaceful , quiet, godly and dignified  lives .  Political chaos and instability  are generally hindrances to the progress  of the gospel  in a nation .
3. God is pleased with such faithful , believing prayers , and we shall discover one day  that  such prayers  were the first  seeds sown  which would  have led to a  spiritual harvest in the nation . 
We urge every Christian congregation  to fulfill this biblical mandate . This is the church's duty  to the nation. 
The church  needs to know  that  it is ultimately our prayer (which is an expression of our dependence upon God  , and which pleases God)  which   leads the people  and leaders  of our country!  

  Namibian Coat of Arms

List of Members of the Namibian National Assembly


Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab (Mr.)


Prof. Loide Kasingo (Ms)


(21 March 2010 – Elected in terms of Article 133 of the Constitution)

Mr. Nahas Angula – (Prime Minister)

Mr. Marco Hausiku – (Deputy Prime Minister)

Dr. Hage Geingob (Mr.) – (Trade and Industry)

Ms. Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana – (Justice)

Mr. Nangolo Mbumba – (Safety and Security)

Dr. Albert Kawana (Mr.) – (Presidential Affairs and Interim Attorney General)

Ms. Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila – (Finance)

Mr. Jerry Ekandjo – (Regional and Local Government, Housing and Rural Development)

Mr. Utoni Nujoma– (Foreign Affairs)

Mr. Erkki Nghimtina – (Works and Transport)

Dr. Abraham Iyambo (Mr.) – (Education)

Ms. Doreen Sioka – (Gender Equality and Child Welfare)

Mr. John Mutorwa – (Agriculture, Water and Forestry)

Mr. Joel Kaapanda – (Information and Communication Technology)

Ms. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah – (Environment and Tourism)

Dr. Nickey Iyambo (Mr.) – (Veterans Affairs)

Mr. Immanuel Ngatjizeko – (Labour and Social Welfare)

Mr. Alpheus !Naruseb – (Lands and Resettlement)

Dr. Richard Kamwi (Mr.) – (Health and Social Services)

Ms. Rosalia Nghidinwa – (Home Affairs and Immigration)

Mr. Charles Namoloh – (Defence)

Mr. Bernhard Esau – (Fisheries and Marine Resources)

Mr. Isak Katali – (Mines and Energy)

Mr. Kazenambo Kazenambo – (Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture)


Mr. Kilus Nguvauva – (Fisheries and Marine Resources)

Mr. Theo Diergaardt – (Lands and Resettlement) – (With effect from 20 January 2011)

Ms. Hilma Nicanor – (Veterans Affairs) – (With effect from 20 January

No comments:

Complicated Church Life?

Let’s face it.   Life in the Father’s  house, the local  church on earth can be exhausting... sometimes. I am not even talking about ...